Colorado's Chain Law Starts Sept. 1 for Commercial Vehicle Drivers on I-70
According to a Colorado Department of Transportationpress release starting September 1, all commercial vehicles traveling on I-70 between milepost 133 (Edwards exit) and milepost 259 (Morrison exit) must carry sufficient chains to be in compliance with the Colorado chain law. The law is in place to help ensure commercial vehicles can drive safely in the region’s snowy conditions.
Colorado’s law requires commercial vehicles to carry chains on this segment of I-70 from September 1 to May 31. Fines and surcharges are steep for violations. Not chaining up when the chain law is in effect will cost you $500 plus a $157 surcharge. Failure to chain-up when the law is in effect and then subsequently blocking the highway will cost you $1,000 and a $313 surcharge.
By "Move Ahead" Staff