The Official Blog of Penske Transportation Solutions

Penske Truck Rental IndyCar to Compete at Sonoma This Weekend

The No. 3Penske Truck Rental Dallara/Chevrolet car will again take to the race track as Team Penske driver Helio Castroneves pursues his first IZOD IndyCar Series Championship at the GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma.


He has one win (2008) and two runner-up finishes (2007 and 2011) at the Raceway in Sonoma, a 12-turn, 2.31-mile road course in Sonoma, Calif.

“It should be a great race this weekend at Sonoma, the Penske Truck Rental crew certainly have the car and Chevy engine right where they need to be,” noted Castroneves.

Castroneves is currently in third place late in the season, trailing by 26 points. In the No. 3 Penske Logistics and Penske Truck Rental car, Castroneves has posted five top-10 finishes and one victory in 2012. In his career, he has 27 IndyCar wins.

The race will be broadcast on the NBC Sports Network and Sirius XM Radio on Sunday at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT. Qualifying will take place the previous day, and will be televised on the NBC Sports Network beginning at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

By Alen Beljin